The CIA - Certified Internal Auditor 

The professional designation for an internal auditor is the Certified Internal Auditor (CIA). This title was created in 1974 by the Institute of Internal Auditors. The CIA exam lasts 14 hours (four 3 1/2-hour parts) and covers the following areas:

1.Theory and Practice of Internal Auditing

2.Theory and Practice of Internal Auditing

3.Management, Quantitative Methods, and Information Systems

4.Accounting, Finance, and Economies

To obtain registration and application forms for the CIA examination, write to:

The Institute of Internal Auditors, Inc. 

Certification Division 249 

Maitland Avenue P.O.Box lll9 

Altamonte Springs, FL 32701 Tel. (407) 830-7600

© Alex J. Llorente 2012