Timothy Braatz

Timothy Braatz's picture
First Name: 
Timothy
Last Name: 
Braatz
Phone: 
(949)582-4386
Title: 
History Instructor
Department: 
Social Sciences
Division: 
Division of Social & Behavioral Sciences
Organization: 
Saddleback College

Considering an online course?  Start here:

http://www.saddleback.edu/oe/getting-started-online-courses

For assistance with technical questions, look here:

 

All online students in Hist 22 and Hist 17 will need the following REQUIRED TEXTBOOKA People’s History of the United State: 1492- Present, by Howard Zinn.  It is available at the campus bookstore or can be purchased online.  Also, this book can be read for free at http://www.historyisaweapon.com/zinnapeopleshistory.html.

 

ABOUT TIMOTHY BRAATZ

Education:

PhD, Arizona State University (US, Native American, Latin American history)

MA, University of California, Santa Barbara (Latin American Studies)

BA, California Lutheran University (Religion and Philosophy)

 

Courses Taught:

US history, Peace Studies, Humanities, US West history, Latin American history, Native American history

 

Teaching Career:

Saddleback College, 1999-present

Southern Utah University, 1998-99

Arizona State University, 1993-1997

 

Books by Timothy Braatz: (available in paperback and also as ebook on Kindle)

Peace Lessons

     Reviews of Peace Lessons: 
          Robert Burrows   https://www.transcend.org/tms/2015/05/peace-lessons-how-to-reduce-violence/
          Dave Swanson   http://davidswanson.org/node/4821

Grisham's Juror (a novel)

From Ghetto to Death Camp: A Memoir of Privilege and Luck (with Anatol Chari)

Surviving Conquest: A History of the Yavapai Peoples


Recent Articles by Timothy Braatz:

Presidential Elections Need Not Matter So Much   https://zcomm.org/znetarticle/presidential-elections-need-not-matter-so-much/

Trump Apologizes, Wins Over Critics  (A Parody)   http://www.counterpunch.org/2016/08/12/trump-apologizes-wins-over-critics/

Micah Johnson and a Culture of Violent Solutions   http://www.counterpunch.org/2016/07/11/micah-johnson-and-a-culture-of-violent-solutions/

Put Restorative Justice on the Democratic Platorm   https://zcomm.org/znetarticle/put-restorative-justice-on-the-democratic-platform/

The Confessions of Brock Turner and a Culture of Punishment   https://zcomm.org/znetarticle/the-confessions-of-brock-turner-and-a-culture-of-punishment/

The Limitations of Strategic Nonviolence   https://www.transcend.org/tms/2015/01/the-limitations-of-strategic-nonviolence/

The Satyagraha of John Brown   https://www.transcend.org/tms/2015/01/the-satyagraha-of-john-brown/

Selma: A Gandhian Critique   https://www.transcend.org/tms/2015/01/selma-a-gandhian-critique/

Speaking of War   http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/10402659.2015.1063383

Clash of Cultures as Euphemism: Avoiding History at the Little Bighorn   http://www.uclajournals.org/doi/abs/10.17953/aicr.28.4.y425g2612l272118?journalCode=aicr