Faculty Development Funding

Final Deadline until Fall - Friday April 30 - for May 14-October 16 Conferences 

Event information document* and completed online application are due by NOON, April 30, 2021

As states vary in re-opening guidelines, it’s important to note that professional development opportunities or professional conferences that require in-person attendance will not be approved.

*BEFORE submitting your online request, please send the brochure/event information to the Academic Senate Admin Assistant.

Scroll Down for Application Link (see BEGIN HERE)

Faculty Development Funding Committee Overview

Mission: To oversee the disbursement of Faculty Development Funds.


Fall 2020 - Tuesdays at 12 pm- 2 pm, via teleconference, unless otherwise specified Spring 2021 - Tuesdays at 12 pm - 2 pm, via teleconference, unless otherwise specified
  • October 13, 2020
  • November 10, 2020
  • December 8, 2020
  • February 9, 2021
  • March 9, 2021
  • April 13, 2021
  • May 11, 2021

 Notification of funding is made within 3 days following scheduled committee meeting

Meetings 2021-22

Meetings held 2nd Tuesday of fall and spring semesters12-2 pm, via teleconference, unless otherwise specified
  • October 12
  • November 9
  • December 14
  • February  8
  • March 8
  • April 12
  • May 10
  • Funding is limited, and not guaranteed. Reimbursement is contingent upon eligibility. 
  • Approval and Spend Authorization are Required BEFORE event/activity. Refer to the above deadlines to plan the timing of your request accordingly.
  • Effective January 1, 2019, funding maximum increased to: $1,400 for full-time faculty; $700 for associate faculty per fiscal year (July 1 - June 30).
  • Faculty on sabbatical are not eligible to receive Faculty Development Funds. Please see the Academic Employee Master Agreement.
  • 2021-22 funding allowance will be used for reimbursement of July and August 2021 conferences 


Please read prior to beginning the application process:

The 3 STEPS of a Faculty Professional Development Funding Request & Reimbursement

  1. Provide event information document and complete an online e-application (See STEP 1A and B below) 

  2. Upon notification of funding (follows respective committee meeting), create a spend authorization in Workday

  3. Create an expense report in Workday within 30 days of completing event


Download or create a PDF of the brochure/event information.

  • If the event does not offer a printable PDF of the event details, screen shots or snips of images of the website should be used to create one. Ctrl+P works well too. 

The event information document must include: 

  • Event name and description
  • Location (ONLINE ONLY)
  • Date(s) of event/activity
  • Website information/url in addition to the site's event brochure
  • Registration Cost
  • AGENDA required for Flex Hour Credit

STEP 1B. Please carefully read the application requirements below.

By the funding deadline, forward the event info document to the Academic Senate Office prior to completing the online e-application - login is required.

Contact the Academic Senate Office if you have any questions or need assistance.

STEP 2:  Required immediately upon notification of funding award - CREATE a SPEND AUTHORIZATION 

Notification occurs within 3 business days following the Committee meeting

An approved Spend Authorization MUST be in place PRIOR to travel dates for domestic travel, and 30 days PRIOR travel outside of the United States. It may take 7 - 10 business days for a spend authorization to be approved.


Within 30 days after the conference, create an expense report for reimbursement in Workday with Receipts, scanned and uploaded as an attachment, for approval and reimbursement.

Contact the Academic Senate Office if you have any questions or need some assistance.

Committee Membership (2020-2021) 

Bouchra Nadeau, LA

Diane McGroarty, ATAS 

Donna Franks-Sayed, EWD&BS

Farida Gabdrakhmanova, ATAS

Jacqueline Novak, HSHS

Jennifer Rachman, CS

John Richards, ATAS

Kerry Crabb, KNES

Kolin Williams, SESP

Scott Howlett, SBS

Steve Teh, MSE

Yorgos Kouritas, FAMT

    Faculty Development Funding Committee By-Laws
    FDFC Funding Guidelines