Faculty Development Funding

Next Funding Deadline for ONLINE professional development: 

Wednesday, December 2 - for Conferences occurring after December 16.

Event information document* and completed online application are due by NOON, November 30, 2020

As other states vary in re-opening guidelines, it’s important to note that professional development opportunities or professional conferences that require in-person attendance will not be approved.

*BEFORE submitting your online request, please send the brochure/event information to the Academic Senate Admin Assistant.

Scroll Down for Application Link (see BEGIN HERE)

Deadlines: Wednesday, December 2 - for late December/January/February Conferences        

  • Friday, January 29 - for late February/March/April Conferences   
  • Friday, February 26 - for late March/April/May Conferences
  • Wednesday, March 31 - for late April/May/June/July/August*** Conferences    
  • Friday April 30 - for late May/June/July/August Conferences 

** Late =  occurs within the last 2 weeks of the month

*** 2021-22 funds will be used for reimbursement of July and August 2021 conferences 

Faculty Development Funding Committee Overview

Mission: To oversee the disbursement of Faculty Development Funds.


Fall 2020 - Tuesdays at 12 pm- 2 pm, via teleconference, unless otherwise specified Spring 2021 - Tuesdays at 12 pm - 2 pm, via teleconference, unless otherwise specified
  • October 13, 2020
  • November 10, 2020
  • December 8, 2020
  • February 9, 2021
  • March 9, 2021
  • April 13, 2021
  • May 11, 2021

 Notification of funding is made within 3 days following scheduled committee meeting

Funding is limited, and not guaranteed. Reimbursement is contingent upon eligibility. 
Approval and Spend Authorization are Required BEFORE event/activity. Refer to the above deadlines to plan the timing of your request accordingly.
Effective January 1, 2019, funding maximum increased to: $1,400 for full-time faculty; $700 for associate faculty per fiscal year (July 1 - June 30).
Faculty on sabbatical are not eligible to receive Faculty Development Funds. Please see the Academic Employee Master Agreement.


Please read prior to beginning the application process:

The 3 STEPS of a Faculty Professional Development Funding Request & Reimbursement

  1. Provide event information document and complete an online e-application (See STEP 1A and B below) 

  2. Upon notification of funding (follows respective committee meeting), create a spend authorization in Workday

  3. Create an expense report in Workday within 30 days of completing event


Download or create a PDF of the brochure/event information.

  • If the event does not offer a printable PDF of the event details, snips or screen shots of the website should be used to create one.

The event information document must include: 

  • Event name and description
  • Location (ONLINE ONLY)
  • Date(s) of event/activity
  • Website information/url
  • Registration Cost
  • AGENDA required for Flex Hour Credit

STEP 1B. Please carefully read the application requirements below.

By the funding deadline, forward the event info document to the Academic Senate Office prior to completing the online e-application - login is required.

Contact the Academic Senate Office if you have any questions or need assistance.

STEP 2:  Required immediately upon notification of funding award. Notification occurs within 3 business days following the Committee meetingCREATE a SPEND AUTHORIZATION 

An approved Spend Authorization MUST be in place PRIOR to travel dates for domestic travel, and 30 days PRIOR travel outside of the United States. It may take 7 - 10 business days for a spend authorization to be approved.


Within 30 days after the conference, create an expense report for reimbursement in Workday with Receipts, scanned and uploaded as an attachment, for approval and reimbursement.

Contact the Academic Senate Office if you have any questions or need some assistance.


Committee Membership (2020-2021) 

Bouchra Nadeau, LA

Diane McGroarty, ATAS 

Elizabeth Ininns, MSE

Farida Gabdrakhmanova, ATAS

John Richards, ATAS

Kerry Crabb, KNES

Kolin Williams, SESP

Phillis Kucharski, HSHS

Scott Howlett, SBS

Steve Teh, MSE

Yorgos Kouritas, FAMT

    Faculty Development Funding Committee By-Laws
    FDFC Funding Guidelines