Music Department

One of the most vibrant applied programs offered by any undergraduate music school in the United States, the Applied Program is the Saddleback Music Department's crown jewel. Competitive and comprehensive, the Applied Program enrolls students in a weekly applied lesson, an ensemble class (piano ensemble for pianists), and a weekly concert hour, a performance class required of all music majors, during which students demonstrate their performing abilities before their classmates and the Music Faculty, in a professional concert setting. Most Applied Program students also enroll in classes such as music theory, music history, and choir.

Auditions for the Applied Program are held on the first Thursday of each semester between Noon and 2 pm in room FA 101. To schedule your audition, contact the Applied Program Coordinator, Professor Norm Weston: nweston@saddleback.edu(link sends e-mail). Prepare a program of between five and ten minutes duration, preferably memorized and featuring contrasting styles, to showcase your abilities.

The Music Department has established a comprehensive program which is considered to be one of the finest in California. Within the Department there exists a variety of specialized areas which permit students to explore and develop individual skills under the guidance of highly qualified music practitioners.

The faculty's academic achievements are combined with vast practical experience which benefits the career-minded student as well as the individual with a more general interest. Students performing in ensembles are given the opportunity to perform in concerts, recitals and other performance situations both on and off campus. Music facilities include an electronic piano lab, Pro Tools HD recording studio, choral and instrumental rehearsal and recital halls, and soundproof practice rooms.

Faculty:

Ariel Alexander
Associate Professor, Commercial Music
(949) 582-4771
aalexander@saddleback.edu

Scott Farthing
Associate Professor, Vocal Music
(949) 582-4751
sfarthing@saddleback.edu

Kirill Gliadkovsky
Associate Professor and Chair
Keyboard Studies
(949) 582-4300
kgliadkovsky@saddleback.edu

Georgios (Yorgos) Kouritas
Associate Professor, Instrumental Studies
(949) 582-4896
gkouritas@saddleback.edu

Joey Sellers
Associate Professor, Jazz Studies
(949) 582-4629
jsellers@saddleback.edu

Norman Weston
Associate Professor, Theory/Composition
(949) 582-4770
nweston@saddleback.edu

Staff:

Patricia Foster
Accompanist
(949) 582-4747
pfoster@saddleback.edu

Kevin Mowry
Senior Lab Technician, Music
(949) 582-4752
kmowry@saddleback.edu

Catherine Tibbitts
Accompanist
(949) 582-4747
ctibbitts@saddleback.edu

YouTube     Facebook