Human Services

DO YOU HAVE A HELPER'S HEART?

If you have an interest in the Human Services career field and would like to hear more about any of our four areas of study, please click the link below to watch a video of the most recent annual Human Services  Informational Session. You can hear about the different certificate options we offer, what you can do with your certificate, the length of time it takes to complete our program, and much, much more. The ending also includes an open Q&A between the audience and our panel members.

                                                        

About the Human Services Programs

The Human Services program offers four areas of study for people looking for a career in the helping professions. The curricula meets the needs of career-oriented students seeking a certificate in Alcohol & Drug Studies, Community-Based Corrections, Human Services Generalist, or Mental Health Worker. In addition, students may continue on and complete an Associates of Science degree in one of these four educational areas. Our programs serve as an introduction to social work, social welfare, criminal justice, counseling, mental health, alcohol & drug counseling, and other helping professions for students planning advanced degrees in these fields. Coursework includes participation in internships or Cooperative Work Experience at various facilities. We also offer an Occupational Skills Award in Eating Disorders. This skills award may be obtained on it's own or in addition to any of our certificate programs. See Schedule of Classes for Human Services courses

Spring 2018 Graduation 

Human Services Certificate Overview and Roadmaps

Human Services Information Session

 

Date:  Time: Location: 
 August 2020 day TBD TBD HS 145

Thank you to all those who came to our information session this year.

If you missed it, please feel free to watch the video of the entire event. For additional information and links to resources, please scroll to the bottom of the page.  

-OR-

feel free to read over our HS Overview PowerPoint for more information.

Please check back in the spring for the date of our 2020 Human Services Information Session.

Human Services Brochures


Faculty & Staff

Kim Branch-Stewart, MSW, LCSW
Chair and Professor, Human Services Program
(949) 582-4708/ Office HS 259

  • HS Faculty Team Contacts:
    • Caroline Paltin: cpaltin@saddleback.edu
    • Cristina Jones: cjones122@saddleback.edu
    • Mia Ferreira: mferreira@saddleback.edu
    • Ken Schmaling: kschmaling@saddleback.edu
    • Geoff Henderson: ghenderson4@saddleback.edu
    • Lois Zsarnay: lzsarnay@saddleback.edu
    • Jim Wainwright: jwainwright@saddleback.edu
    • Joe Salcido: jsalcido@saddleback.edu

Chelsey Tyson
Human Services/Medical Assisting Program Specialist
(949) 582-4973/ Office HS 235

Additional Information and Resources 

  • Individuals who work, volunteer, or intern at a licensed alcohol and drug treatment facility, in a counselor capacity, must be registered or certified with one of the state-approved certifying organizations, per the CA. Department of Health Care Services (DHCS). It is important to note that, once you get registered there is a 5-year timeframe to become certified. Reference the DHCS links for details. Saddleback College Human Services Alcohol and Drug Studies Certificate of Achievement Program is accredited by the California Association for Alcohol and Drug Educators (CAADE)

 

  • Students are encouraged to review each certifying organization to determine which organization you plan to register with. 

 

  • CAADE emphasizes an educational philosophy and it is the accrediting organization for the Alcohol and Drug Studies Certificate Program. We therefore recommend registration with CAADE/ACCBC when it is time for you to register. However, you may select the organization of your choice.

 

  • If you are considering getting an AS degree and/or transferring to a university upon completion of your degree and/or certificate, you may take some of the required general education (GE) courses along with the HS courses during each semester. It is recommended that you meet with a counselor for information about the GE courses need for an AS degree and/or transfer. 

 

  • Counselor Contacts:
    • Please call to set-up appointments with a specific Counselor 949-582-4572 
      • Michelle Gustafson (Counselor)
      • Doug Barr (Counselor)
      • Aimee Tran (Articulation Officer)