Saddleback College Celebrates Construction of New Sciences Building at Groundbreaking Ceremony








Saddleback College students, faculty, staff, and administrators gathered at the future site of the college’s new Sciences Building on Monday, December 16th for a groundbreaking ceremony to celebrate construction of the building, slated to open in 2015. 

South Orange County Community College District Board of Trustees members in attendance included T.J. Prendergast, III, president, Marcia Milchiker, clerk, Dr. William Jay, Tim Jemal, David Lang, and Dr. James Wright.  Chancellor Gary Poertner and President Tod A. Burnett offered remarks that noted the significance of the new building, and Dr. Wright thanked the board of trustees, chancellor, and president for their work in facilitating the funding of construction.

Dr. Burnett stated, “Our new Sciences Building will be a model in the state for its environmentally-friendly design and state-of-the art laboratories and classrooms, providing a top-notch learning environment for our students. Thank you to our facilities and maintenance staff for their superb oversight of this long-awaited project.”

The 51,244 square foot, three-floor building will house 26 modern laboratory spaces for academic programs in astronomy, biology, chemistry, geology, marine science, and physics.  The new building will be Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) certified and will include many sustainable design features, including a courtyard with a themed demonstration garden planted over an underground element to provide on-site retention of storm water, reducing the impact on the campus storm water system.

Photo (from left to right): South Orange County Community College District Board of Trustees Members David Robinson, Tim Jemal, Dr. James Wright, David Lang, T. J. Prendergast, Dr. William Jay, and Marcia Milchiker; Associated Student Government President Bahman Sabahi; Academic Senate President Dan Walsh; District Director of Facilities Planning Walter Rice; Irvine Valley College President Glenn Roquemore; College Director of Facilities John Ozurovich; Classified State Employees Association Representative and Senior Lab Technician Sara Sheybani; Brian Dougherty (architect, Dougherty and Doughtery); Dean of Mathematics, Science, and Engineering Chris McDonald, Dave McGlothlin (senior project manager, CW Driver), Biology Professor Tony Huntley, Chancellor Gary Poertner, President Tod A. Burnett.