Saddleback College to Recognize 56 Nursing Graduates at Pinning Ceremony

For Immediate Release: 
May 3, 2017
The Saddleback College Nursing Program will honor 56 graduating nursing students in a symbolic candle lighting and pinning ceremony to be held on Tuesday, May 9th at 7:00 pm in the McKinney Theatre. Each graduate will receive a time-honored pin, a symbol of a nurse’s service to others, and their induction into the nursing profession. 

Dr. Diane Pestolesi, Nursing Program director and assistant dean of health services, will welcome the graduating students, their family members, and friends, dignitaries from the South Orange County Community College Board of Trustees and the Chancellor’s office, college administrators, faculty members, and staff. A “Remember When” speech will be delivered by graduating students Kellie Buckley and Kara Finkelstein. Professor Christina Bowles will then present the spring 2017 graduating class. 

Each graduate will receive a symbolic pin from professors Jodi Caggiano and Carrie Danko. The class pledge will be read by graduate Keegan Saffell and the farewell address will be given by graduates Tabitha O’Connell and Nima Daryari.  Graduate Hayley Shea will join professors Linda Gleanson and Jennifer Forouzesh in the lighting of the candles, symbolizing the “passing of the flame” from Florence Nightingale to each nurse, and graduates Tabitha O’Connel and Nima Daryaei will give the farewell address to their class.
Graduate Laura Anderman will present the class gift on behalf of the class of spring 2017. Closing the ceremony and bidding farewell to the class will be professor Phillis Kucharski. 

The Graduating Class of Spring 2017 includes:
(All listed in alphabetical order)  
1.    Laura Anderman - Mission Viejo
2.    Brian Barone - Riverside
3.    Torri Bertini - Laguna Hills
4.    Latasha Brooks - Aliso Viejo
5.    Kellie Buckley - Laguna Hills
6.    Jayme Chase - San Juan Capistrano
7.    Hue Chiu - Foothill Ranch
8.    Lena Chung - Tustin
9.    Alexandra Clarke - Rancho Santa Margarita
10.    Jillian Dalitz - Dana Point
11.    Nima Daryaei - Tustin
12.    Joshua Deang - Aliso Viejo
13.    Rachel delos Santos - Laguna Niguel
14.    Steven Donoghue - San Clemente
15.    Claudia Duenas - Riverside
16.    Kara Finkelestein - Irvine
17.    Anna Flores - Laguna Niguel
18.    Jacquelyn Goodman - Huntington Beach
19.    Klair Grace - San Diego
20.    Dat Ha - Garden Grove
21.    Ciera Hanks - Dana Point
22.    Julie Hansell - Lake Forest
23.    Stephen Haydon - Mission Viejo
24.    Hilda Hernandez - Mission Viejo
25.    Elizabeth Hoyt - Mission Viejo
26.    Leah Hutchinson - Mission Viejo
27.    Sheryl Jackson - Irvine
28.    Shelly Kaufman - Mission Viejo
29.    So Jung Kim - Tustin
30.    Katie Kirby - Dana Point
31.    Jennifer Triolo-Legault - Laguna Beach
32.    Richard Longo - Huntington Beach
33.    Ann Luc - Carlsbad 
34.    Jessica Macvicar - Fountain Valley
35.    Gina Martinek - Ladera Ranch
36.    Nicholas Martinez - San Clemente
37.    Camila Merwin - Laguna Niguel
38.    Jennifer Metz - Aliso Viejo
39.    Bliss Munoz - Laguna Beach
40.    Hatsuki Nagai - Laguna Hills
41.    Tabitha O’Connell - Mission Viejo
42.    Kathrine Olsen - San Clemente
43.    Cheri Pendleton - Irvine
44.    Jordan Purcell - Rancho Santa Margarita
45.    Rachael Rippee - Newport Beach
46.    Amy Louise Rodgers - Rancho Santa Margarita
47.    Haley Ruggles - Mission Viejo
48.    Donna Sabet - San Clemente
49.    Keegan Saffell - Fountain Valley
50.    Krystle Sandoval - Brea
51.    Anthony Sardegna - Rancho Santa Margarita
52.    Hayley Shea - Laguna Hills
53.    Jenna Seiss - Irvine
54.    Mike Tan - Orange 
55.    Samantha Traywick - Santa Ana
56.    Fatima Touyanou - Mission Viejo

Located in Mission Viejo, Saddleback College provides quality higher education and training to the greater south Orange County community. Having served more than 500,000 students since 1968, Saddleback College offers more than 300 degree and certificate programs to help students reach their personal, career, and educational goals. For more information, please visit
Originally published May 3, 2017