Social and Behavioral Sciences Division

In compliance with District and State regulations, the SBS Division office will be available for online or remote support. We are available via email scsbs@saddleback.edu, phone (949) 582-4733, and Zoom by appointment only. 

 


The Social and Behavioral Sciences Division provides a comprehensive and varied learning experience for all students. We offer full-semester, late start, and full credit 8-week classes taught by faculty members who are experts in their field. All classes are taught online.           

                                           

Division Mission

To educate students for a lifetime of success.

Prerequisite Information

 

           COURSE                                            PREREQUISITE COURSE NEEDED

 

          CDE 110……………………………..CDE 7 or CDE 7H and CDE 101


          CDE 121……………………………..CDE 7 or CDE 7H, and CDE 15, and CDE 101,                                                                                                                                           and CDE 110, and CDE 120

          ECON 2……………………………...MATH 253 (must clear through Matriculation Department)

          ECON 4……………………………...MATH 253 (must clear through Matriculation Department)

          PSYC 2………………………………PSYC 1 or PSYC 44, and MATH 10

          PSYC 3………………………………PSYC 1

          PSYC 37……………………………..PSYC 1

          PSYC 44……………………………..MATH 253 (must clear through Matriculation Department)

 

 **Here is the form and more information on how to clear prerequisites:                                                                          https://www.saddleback.edu/matriculation/Clearing-Prerequisites

 

Student Concern/ Grade Grievance

 

In the rare case that you should have a grade concern or an issue with your instructor that can't be resolved between the two of you, please complete the student concern form, and email the appropriate department chair (please see list below):

DEPARTMENT CHAIR EMAIL PHONE 
Anthropology/ Ethnic Studies Claire Cesareo ccesareo@saddleback.edu  (949) 582-4739

Child Development/
Educational Studies

Brenda Plascencia Carrizosa/ 
Christina Smith
bcarrizosa@saddleback.edu
csmith78@saddleback.edu
(949) 582-4754
(949) 582-4208
Economics Jennifer Pakula jpakula@saddleback.edu (949) 582-6170
Gender and Sexuality Studies April Cubbage/
Margot Lovett
acubbage@saddleback.edu
mlovett@saddleback.edu
(949) 582-4636
(949) 582-4993
Geography/ GIS Maureen Smith msmith115@saddleback.edu (949) 582-4210
History Christina Ghanbarpour cghanbarpour@saddleback.edu (949) 582-4737
Political Science Jennifer Pakula
Anwar Hijaz
jpakula@saddleback.edu
ahijaz@saddleback.edu
(949) 582-6170
(949) 348-6881
Psychology Kathryn Damm kdamm@saddleback.edu (949) 582-4816
Sociology Allison Camelot acamelot@saddleback.edu (949) 582-4478

 

** If the issue is with one of the Department Chairs then please complete the student concern form and email to  scsbs@saddleback.edu. We will make sure to forward your form to the Dean.

 

 Student Grade Grievance Information - AR 5530

 

Zero Textbook Cost

Zero Textbook Cost Classes

What is ZTC?

ZTC (Zero-Textbook-Cost) classes have no textbook-related costs, including access fees for online materials. Such classes often use Open Educational Resources (OER) created under a Creative Commons (a public copyright license) that give people the ability to share, use, and build upon a work that has been created. They may also use library e-books or other sources so there is no cost to the student. Saddleback College faculty have adopted and created OER to provide high-quality educational materials to you at no cost online, and low-cost print options. Click here for more information about our ZTC classes.