Pursuant to Title 5 of the Administrative Code of California, Section 53200, the Academic Senate is a faculty organization whose primary function is to make recommendations with respect to academic and professional matters as it relates, in particular to the following areas:

  • Curriculum, including establishing prerequisites and places courses within disciplines
  • Degree and certificate requirements
  • Grading policies
  • Educational program development
  • Standards or policies regarding student preparation and success
  • District and college governance structures, as related to faculty roles
  • Faculty roles and involvement in accreditation processes, including self-study and annual reports
  • Policies for faculty professional development activities
  • Processes for program review
  • Processes for institutional planning and budget development
  • Other academic and professional matters as mutually agreed upon between the governing board and the Academic Senate.

According to Education Code, the Academic Senate is also responsible for jointly developing with the District policies and procedures related to faculty hiring (section 87360B) and administrative retreat rights (section 87458A).

The Saddleback College Academic Senate is a representative body, with each instructional area receiving a senator for every ten full-time faculty members or portion thereof, to a maximum of four.


Agendas and Minutes

Agendas Minutes
Agendas Minutes

Executive Team 2022-2023

  • Heidi Ochoa
    Academic Senate President
  • Margot Lovett
    Academic Senate President Elect
  • Dan Walsh
    Academic Senate Past President
  • Deidre Cavazzi
    Academic Senate Vice President at Large
  • Efren Rangel
    Academic Senate Vice President for Equity & Inclusion
  • Michelle Duffy
    Academic Senate Secretary
    Co-Chair, Curriculum Committee
  • Dan Walsh
    Flexible Calendar Program Coordinator