University of California (nine UC campuses) and California State Universities (23 campuses) have a commitment to California Community College students.

Students need to make sure they are eligible and follow the procedures and deadlines to keep eligible right up to transferring. Still at most of these universities' students need to be competitive. Learn about applying broadly and keeping a competitive edge.

California State University Transfer
Cal State Online
CSU Upper-Division Transfer Student

Minimum Requirements

To be admitted to the California State University as an upper-division transfer (UDT) student:

  • Completed a minimum of 60 semester or 90 quarter units of “transferable” coursework;
  • Overall college GPA of at least 2.00; using all your transfer units attempted. In high-demand majors and campuses a GPA of 2.00 may not be sufficient to be admitted;
  • Be in good standing at the last college or university attended. In simple terms, eligible to re-enroll at your last college or university;
  • Completed 10 general education courses (30 semester units or 45 quarter units) specifically, four courses completed in the following areas: (GOLDEN FOUR COURSES)
A1 - Oral Communication 1A - Written Communications
A2 - Written Communications 1B - Critical Thinking
A3 - Critical Thinking 1C - Oral Communications
Area B - Scientific Inquiry and Quantitative Reasoning Area 2 - Mathematical Concept and Quantitative Reasoning
B4 - Mathematics/Quantitative Reasoning   

Lower-Division Transfer Student (LDT) - Due to enrollment demands, most CSU campuses restrict or prohibit the admission of lower-division transfer (LDT) students who have earned fewer than 60 transferable semester units (90 quarter units).

If you have completed 59 or fewer transferable semester units, or 89 or fewer transferable quarter units, by the time you plan to enter a CSU, you are considered a lower-division transfer (LDT) applicant. Please check with the campus before applying.

Associate Degree for Transfer (AA-T or AS-T) is a special, new degree offered at California Community Colleges. To pursue this special degree rather than a traditional associate degree, you should meet with a counselor to develop an education plan and review transfer requirements and deadlines.

For more information visit:

UC TAG Transfer Admission Guarantee:

  • UC Davis, Irvine, Merced, Riverside, Santa Cruz, and Santa Barbara, six campuses, offer guaranteed admission to students who meet the GPA and other guidelines specific to each campus (see  UC TAG)

University of California Transfer Requirements

UC Transfer Admission Planner is an online tool used by students planning to apply to University of California to track and plan courses to meet UC admission requirements 

  • Students will complete the Transfer Admission Guarantee (TAG) application with one of the six participating UC campuses: (UC Davis, UC Irvine, UC Merced, UC Riverside, UC Santa Barbara or UC Santa Cruz) using the Transfer Admission Planner. 
  • Communicate with UC staff regarding important transfer information.